EDF’s robust qualification process

The qualification process is designed to evaluate a company’s ability to become a potential supplier of EDF for a given product or service.

The localization process is an essential condition for signing, and subsequently executing a contract according to EDF’s expectations:

1. Sourcing

  • initiate first contact visits
  • send request for information questionnaires (RFI)

2. Pre-selection

  • preselect suppliers according to RFI feedback analysis
  • visit suppliers for pre-assessment, with feedback

3. Pre-qualification

  • implement development plan, including technical training courses and workshops
  • carry out product or process qualification tests as necessary
  • send a blank RFQ for detailed technical assessment

4. Qualification

  • qualify supplier before the contract is signed (Approved Vendor List)

A collaborative approach based on lessons learned

Train to new codes

A graded approach toward quality requirements

EDF follows a graded approach depending on the equipment concerned:

Safety grade
Safety Grade Technical requirement
Pressure Equipment
Technical requirement
Electrical Equipment
Quality Requirements
Safety grade 1 (nuc) Grade 1:
RCC-M (Volume B)
RCC-E ISO 9001 supplemented by nuclear specific requirements - Based on ISO 19443
Safety grade 2 (nuc) Grade 2:
RCC-M (Volume C)
RCC-E ISO 9001 supplemented by nuclear specific requirements - Based on ISO 19443
Safety grade 3 (nuc) Grade 4:
RCC-M (Volume D)
RCC-E ISO 9001 supplemented by nuclear specific requirements - Based on ISO 19443
Not classified ISO standards / ASME VIII   (ISO-9001 strongly recommended)

RCC philosophy

*AFCEN’s RCC codes (“Regulation and Construction Code”) offer accurate and practical rules for the design, construction and in service inspection of components for use in industrial or experimental nuclear facilities.

RCC codes take into account the continuous evolution of the nuclear industry while striving for standardization worldwide.

In order to promote RCC codes, dedicated training programs are put in place.

Understand RCC philosophy

Get prepared for the specific requirements of the project

Anticipate technical specifications

Become possible supplier for Balance of Nuclear Island scope

Logo ISO - International Organization for Standardization

Quality and management systems requirements

EDF expects from the suppliers to be compliant with ISO 19443

  • ISO 19443 – 2018 is a new standard written for the nuclear industry. It is specific to Important to Nuclear Safety (ITNS) products and services.
  • The objectives of this standard is to help the suppliers:
    • improve the understanding of nuclear quality requirements
    • internationally standardise the quality requirements:
      • IAEA guides
      • national Regulations
      • nuclear Codes
      • ISO standards
  • The standard adds requirements to ISO 9001:2015